+-
Raker Knives & Steel - Proven Performance Blades of 52100

Author Topic: Can someone identify this?  (Read 1529 times)

Offline Andreas

  • Charter Member
  • No Life Club
  • *
  • Posts: 1,165
Can someone identify this?
« on: July 30, 2010, 04:20:20 AM »
Won this on eBay for $3.25. It's from Chian so I'm guessing it's a fake, but does anyone know what Gerber tool it's trying to be?


Offline Chako

  • Charter Member
  • Absolutely No Life Club
  • *
  • Posts: 8,359
  • Country: ca
  • Armed with camera and not afraid to use it.
Re: Can someone identify this?
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2010, 04:59:16 AM »
You are right, that is no Gerber.

It is pretending to be one of these (all real Gerber models)...



But actually is one of these. Looks like that is another variation of the same family.



Not a bad MT considering the price. However, that eBay seller needs to be reported, even though it doesn't do much good.
« Last Edit: July 30, 2010, 05:00:49 AM by Chako »

Offline Fisting_Chili

  • Charter Member
  • No Life Club
  • *
  • Posts: 1,930
  • Country: spam
Re: Can someone identify this?
« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2010, 05:04:24 AM »
looks like the gerber ripstop and the legend had a baby...?
“Do not go gentle, into that goodnight.  Rage....RAGE against the dying of the light!"

-Dylan Thomas

Online nuphoria

  • Charter Member
  • Absolutely No Life Club
  • *
  • Posts: 9,231
  • Country: gb
  • ? ???????? ?
    • My blog
Re: Can someone identify this?
« Reply #3 on: July 30, 2010, 08:59:19 AM »
Almost every day a load of ebay listings are claiming to be Gerbers from HK, not convinced myself!


Tweet tweet: @DrNuph

Offline jekostas

  • No Life Club
  • ******
  • Posts: 1,918
  • Country: ca
Re: Can someone identify this?
« Reply #4 on: August 01, 2010, 01:04:57 AM »
Ah, just one more reason I rarely if ever buy knives on eBay.  The respectable sellers are (unfortunately) few and far between.

On that note, how many bloody MTs does Ganzo produce every year?   Like, millions?

Offline Chako

  • Charter Member
  • Absolutely No Life Club
  • *
  • Posts: 8,359
  • Country: ca
  • Armed with camera and not afraid to use it.
Re: Can someone identify this?
« Reply #5 on: August 01, 2010, 01:13:32 AM »
I am gunning for this one once I get my credit card running again. I just love a good fake...heck...even the bad ones are tops in my books.

Offline 465754361

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Can someone identify this?
« Reply #6 on: August 13, 2010, 07:42:00 AM »
Won this on eBay for $3.25. It's from China so I'm guessing it's a fake, but does anyone know what Gerber tool it's trying to be?



you are right this is a fake ........ made in YangJiang China ,by a corporation call GANZO,and this cop is famous for it's bad quality ,  products inferior copy of GERBER suspension,

Offline 65bellett

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
Re: Can someone identify this?
« Reply #7 on: August 14, 2010, 08:20:45 AM »
I am gunning for this one once I get my credit card running again. I just love a good fake...heck...even the bad ones are tops in my books.

There is some thing a little bit cool about a good fake, as long as you know that is what you are buying. I am starting to get a good little collection going. I must admit though I have given up on using them as they always seem to break exactly when I need them :oops:

Nice looking tool by the way!

Offline Sean

  • No Life Club
  • ******
  • Posts: 3,262
  • Country: ca
Re: Can someone identify this?
« Reply #8 on: August 14, 2010, 04:41:48 PM »
I don't mind fake either all that much but as mentioned before when they put the name of the
company on their it burns me to no end.  :-\  There isn't a hope I'd knowingly buy or support
it.
My other hobby is making slingshots.  For the enthusiast check out...
http://slingshotforum.com/

Offline Andreas

  • Charter Member
  • No Life Club
  • *
  • Posts: 1,165
Re: Can someone identify this?
« Reply #9 on: August 24, 2010, 01:38:50 PM »
It finally arrived, and it seems like decent quality for being a fake. I mean, it's not Leatherman quality, but the same thing can be said for all of the real Gerbers I've had my hands on (not many).

The bit kit is a nice touch - might steal that for something else







Pliers are ridiculously big, bigger than my Wave - probably SURGE (@medic82) sized. Spring loaded, which I wish the Wave was. Not flimsy at all, but the steel on the blades is too soft for it to be real (still not bad). Bit adapter is designed to go on top of the Phillips head screwdriver

Also included this as a freebie, very nice wallet thingy that even has a saw!

« Last Edit: August 24, 2010, 01:43:49 PM by Cptnodegard »

Offline MrCoffee

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
  • Country: us
  • Coffee and Multitools - Proof there is a God.
Re: Can someone identify this?
« Reply #10 on: August 26, 2010, 11:14:38 AM »
You are right, that is no Gerber.

It is pretending to be one of these (all real Gerber models)...






What is the one that you have pictured in the middle, there are three on each side of it? I just got one off eBay for $6.33+$4 shipping, thought from the picture it was a suspension, but the scales are different. Same basic tools thou.
Can't figure out the model... but I like it so far.
S

Offline Grant Lamontagne

  • Head Turd Polisher
  • Administrator
  • Absolute Zombie Club
  • *
  • Posts: 32,219
  • Country: ca
  • Optimus Instrumenti Est Inter Vestri
    • Defender Web & Tool
Re: Can someone identify this?
« Reply #11 on: August 26, 2010, 01:30:22 PM »
That is the Resolve.

Def

Offline scrappy

  • Turd Bucket
  • Charter Member
  • No Life Club
  • *
  • Posts: 2,100
  • Country: spam
Re: Can someone identify this?
« Reply #12 on: August 26, 2010, 06:07:25 PM »
looks like a winiframe or winframe too, I think.

Offline ryanrrx

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 82
Re: Can someone identify this?
« Reply #13 on: January 27, 2011, 05:59:36 AM »
Won this on eBay for $3.25. It's from Chian so I'm guessing it's a fake, but does anyone know what Gerber tool it's trying to be?





that looks like rush i see in the plier head there? or is it that smelly crap yellow grease they use?

that stuff is the worst...

Offline kreisler

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 64
  • Country: spam
Re: Can someone identify this?
« Reply #14 on: May 04, 2012, 07:12:12 PM »


i cant find it on gerber website .. any link please?

 

+-Donations

Operational Funds

Keep the Unworkable working!
Donate with PayPal!
May Goal: $250.00
Due Date: Jun 1
Total Receipts: $99.00
PayPal Fees: $5.89
Net Balance: $93.11
Below Goal: $156.89
Site Currency: USD
37% 
May Donations

+-Community Links

EDC Source
Multitool.org
Multitool Gallery
Multitool Encyclopedia
SAKWiki
SOSAK Online
Swiss Army Knights
Powered by EzPortal