Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

A brutally honest comparison of my workday multi-tools capabilities

Offline MacTech

I'm an Apple-authorized technician, working at a small New Hampshire independent reseller/service center, and I use multi-tools in my daily work duties, even though I'm a newbie when it comes to this forum, I've used multis for a while, so I've found out what works well for *my* purposes, as always, YMMV.....

the five contenders are;
Victorinox SwissTool Spirit
Victorinox SwissTool
Victorinox CyberTool 34
Leatherman Surge
Leatherman Wave

the CyberTool lives in my desk and/or on my workbench, and is only brought home when it needs to be sharpened, I generally carry a Leatherman on my belt holster (so far, the Surge is my current choice) and it's generally paired with a SAK (Vic Soldier or Explorer) or the SwissTool Spirit

I'll first deal with the SwissTool, as it's the only tool that hasn't made the cut, and has been relegated to my Bugout bag at home, the SwissTool isn't a *bad* tool, far from it, it's just not suited to my daily needs

SwissTool Pros;
exceptional fit-and-finish
built like the proverbial tank, and could probably disassemble one
gorgeous high-luster finish is nigh-impervious to daily use scratches and dings
all tools accessible from the outside of the tool, each tool locks individually, and clicks into place with an authoritative "snap", it's got the world-famous "Walk-And-Talk" of Victorinox's world-renowned pocketknives
blades deploy from the bottom handle, as they should
remarkably corrosion-resistant, right up there with H-1 steel
the "Crate Opener" tool makes an exceptionally good pry-bar
"Stretch mode" is not wobbly at all

SwissTool Cons;
heavy and bulky