Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Efficient Compact Bright Camping Lanterns?

Offline wellgate

Efficient Compact Bright Camping Lanterns?
on: January 02, 2013, 08:47:07 PM
I'm pretty new to this game, having acquired a P7, 2x P3,P2 and an MT7 lensers almost without realising it. I don't mind paying for top quality kit and I'm looking for a reasonably compact yet bright lantern for all-round rather than directed illumination while camping. It must be durable, and doesn't need to be covert but some control to allow use inside a tent, or ability to shade it downwards would be useful.

It won't be used more than once every few weeks so rechargable is not essential, and I guess windup or manual power could be considered.

Can anyone make some suggestions?

thanks
W.

cy Offline dks

• Absolute Zombie Club
  • Bored
Re: Efficient Compact Bright Camping Lanterns?
Reply #1 on: January 02, 2013, 09:01:23 PM
I have a cheap lantern but nothing great.

Maybe you can use a diffuser on your torches to achieve a "lantern" effect?

Also there are some gas canister ones that seem popular.
Kelly: "Daddy, what makes men cheat on women?
Al : "Women!"

[ Knife threads ]  [ Country shopping guides ]  [ Battery-Charger-Light threads ]  [ Picture threads ]

gb Offline AimlessWanderer

• Zombie Apprentice
  • I'm not a pessimist, I'm an experienced optimist!
Reply #2 on: January 02, 2013, 09:23:28 PM
Easy  :D Fenix PD20 with the white lantern diffuser and a little clip on the keyring attachment to hang it from the ceiling of the tent

The cantankerous but occasionally useful member, formally known as 50ft-trad

spam Offline scrappy

• Turd Bucket
  • No Life Club
Reply #3 on: January 02, 2013, 11:24:47 PM
take a look at the mightylite by uco and industrial revolution. they are compact and come in multiple sizes, like AA, 3AAA, and 4AA. If you go larger, than I would suggest the khohls lux by shift three. it uses 3 D batteries.