Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Innitial Impression : Maglight Solitaire LED : Wow!

Jors · 39 · 4774

za Offline Jors

• Johan Crous
Innitial Impression : Maglight Solitaire LED : Wow!
on: February 05, 2014, 08:19:34 PM
I received my Black Maglight Solitaire LED today in less than 24 hours after I made the online payment to Loot.co.za.
It is the version in the black plastic case.
Awesome!
I immediately love the finnish. I have read several articles about this flashlight and why people don't like it and the absence of knurling....The flashlight is featuring knurling! The knurling is the straight line finnish. I am a model engineer so I know that you get straight knurling blades. I have seen them myself.

I like the focusing meganism by turning the head a but further than the switch on.

I waited unitl dark and I directed the beam to a wall about 30 meters away. Awesome.

I compared it to my AAA Maratac. SHOOT ME IF YOU WANT! The maglite outperforms the Maratac in the beam. I then directed it a bit further to my neighbour's trees and I am impressed. The beam is stronger (not the light strength) due to the ability to focus, where the Maratac is spreading the light a bit more.

The beam makes it at my test done, slightly stronger.

I will do a proper  series of tests and then do a review later.

I can just say that I will recommend this little flashlite with a smile. This thingy really rocks.

I would like to get the LED Lenser P3 later, as I am fond of little flashlights. However I am of the opinion thet the LL have a much better focusing ability.

I like the 10 year guarantee, although it means nothing for me. I cannot send it to USA for a repair. The LL is backed by Leatherman and I can get a replacement withing walking distance, as indeed happened to me a year ago, The Maratac will have to be thrown away if braking down (I doubt it will ever happen!)
Regards
Johan