Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Plastic fantastic... having a go at a kydex multitool sheath

nelson · 10 · 2236

gb Offline nelson

I bought some a4 sheets of Kydex to have a mess around with. Although I use my Skinths daily, I really liked the millisecond access to the tool that the FMA holder gave.

I've never used this stuff before and it's not common here, with no real demand for EDC holsters and knife sheaths, so its a bit of a learning curve.

Anyway, I made a press using some wood and foam I had laying around and  I slapped two bits of Kydex in the oven then formed them around a LMCharge.

I wanted the tool angled, but made a complete balls of cutting it out, not allowing sufficient material for the belt loops to be fitted.

I carried on regardless just to see all the processes involved so I can do better next time.

I ended up with a pancake style sheath, that sits close and comfortable to the body. So flat in fact I could drive quite happily without feeling it on my back and it doesn't show through clothing in any significant way.

The tool really impressively locks into it, not a chance it would fall out, but accessibility is instant as is putting it back in with that nice click home.

I've got the measure of this stuff now and I'll make a much better job of it next time, though I'll post a few pics of the trial run shortly for your viewing pleasure :)

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
Wake up in the morning and piss excellence  :)           (Talladega Nights)

hr Offline enki_ck

• Global Moderator
  • Absolute Zombie Club
  • I may get older but I refuse to grow up.
Re: Plastic fantastic... having a go at a kydex multitool sheath
Reply #1 on: April 05, 2014, 08:11:04 PM
:popcorn:

BTW, where did you get the kydex this side of the pond and how much did it set you back?

scotland Offline Gareth

• Admin Team
  • Point Of No Return
Reply #2 on: April 05, 2014, 08:14:31 PM