Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

New to SOG - which tools can you replace the blades on ?

Offline Anonymouslemming

Hi all,

I'm new to SOG, having just been pointed at them by someone after discussing removing the knife blades from a Leatherman.

Does anyone here know if you can replace any SOG part with the components at http://www.sogknives.com/type/accessories/where/sog-product-type-multi/multi--to-tool-component.html ? And does that work on all tools ?

I'd ideally like their most robust tool, but swap out the knife blades for other parts. Any advice on tools and part combos would be much appreciated.

Being that I live in the UK I need to try and get it right in one go, because with import fees, importing components one-by-one will get expensive :)

us Offline ducttapetech

• Zombie Apprentice
  • Whiskey Tango Foxtrot, over.
Re: New to SOG - which tools can you replace the blades on ?
Reply #1 on: May 09, 2014, 05:33:03 PM
I think you are taking about the Powerlock?

Most tool can be change out. You can change the blade for a beltcutter or a wire stripper. Keep in mind, long tools like the files, saw and such need to stay on the edge of the handles and the driver and such toward the center so the tool can close properly.

live from Nate's mobile
Nate

SEND IT!

us Offline ducttapetech

• Zombie Apprentice
Reply #2 on: May 09, 2014, 05:41:49 PM
Just looking at my SOG Powerlock, you can trade the blade for a pair of scissors or belt cutter and the saw for the same thing. I think you can change the saw or knife for the wire striper too.

live from Nate's mobile

Nate

SEND IT!

hr Offline enki_ck

• Global Moderator
  • Absolute Zombie Club
  • I may get older but I refuse to grow up.
Reply #3 on: May 09, 2014, 08:17:39 PM
Which tool would you change it on?

As ducttapetech said, as long as you use the long tools on the outside, you should be good. :cheers: