Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Wave or Rebar?

jnick · 48 · 10167

Offline jnick

Wave or Rebar?
on: August 22, 2014, 01:27:08 PM
Hi all! First post here :).

I have a Leatherman Sidekick that I got on sale at BF. It's definitely come in handy for my job (I'm a Network Admin) however there were a few annoyances with it, such as the non-locking tools. Well, last week I was using it to open the covers on a floor outlet plate and it snapped the flat dead driver :/. I do know about the warranty and am sending it in. However this led me to believe that the Sidekick isn't touch enough to stand up to the challenges at my job.

Therefore I'm considering the Wave or the Rebar.

I was leaning toward the wave because of the OHO blades, and the pocket clip as I ALWAYS carried the sidekick using the pocket clip.

However the Rebar has me on the hook for two reasons:

1. Weight
2. 3D Phillips head

I was NOT a big fan of the pancaked Phillips head on the sidekick. Looking at the wave, while I love the idea of the interchangeable bits, it looks like the Phillips is once again pancaked, and therefore I feel it may slip out of the screw head easily.

For those that have one or the other, can you please let me know what you think? I was hoping to buy the new on before I send the sidekick in as I don't know if I could survive without a MT for a few weeks LOL.

Thanks!

us Offline sawman

• Absolutely No Life Club
  • You're amongst friends.
Re: Wave or Rebar?
Reply #1 on: August 22, 2014, 01:32:38 PM
If you were using the large flat driver, it's the same on the Rebar and the Wave. If it's locking tools you're after, then the Rebar is good. I don't seem to have any trouble with the Phillips, it works great!
SAW

us Offline ducttapetech

• Zombie Apprentice
  • Whiskey Tango Foxtrot, over.
Reply #2 on: August 22, 2014, 01:40:53 PM