Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Charge TTi

Offline oschmid2

• New User
Charge TTi
on: August 23, 2014, 04:32:10 AM
Hi All,
I am a newbie to the forum. Thought you could clarify something for me. I received my Charge TTi yesterday and I am not happy with the action at all. Very hard to get the blade out one-handedly. So I took my magnifier out and observed that there were two phosphor bronze washers doubled up on the inside liner and none on the Ti side. I picked up the phone and called Leatherman to check if this was a mistake or by design and the lady confirmed this is supposed to be this way. Nevertheless, as I was not happy with the action I took the tool apart and distributed the washer to both sides. I think it made the action significantly better, not perfect still but a noticeable improvement. Any thoughts on way Leatherman would opt for this design?
As I am already ranting, the grind on the S30V blade was just horrific. It took me the better part of the night to put an edge on this with my Edge Pro Apex. Shouldn't the Charge TTi be their top model? I bought it mostly for the blade and therefore it bugged me quite a bit how bad this was implemented, in particular for that price.
I will end here... Thanks for your feedback.
Cheers! 
Holger

ca Offline Grant Lamontagne

• Head Turd Polisher
  • Administrator
  • Just Bananas
  • Optimum instrumentum est inter aures
Re: Charge TTi
Reply #1 on: August 23, 2014, 11:58:06 AM
Welcome to the forum!

The Charge models are indeed the flagship although there have been problems noted in the past.  The best suggestion I can make is that you contact Customer Service again, explain that you aren't happy and see if they will have someone check it out.  I can't say they will do that but their customer service is generally considered to be quite good. Plus, you paid for the tool, you should be entitled to some satisfaction.