Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Newbie choosing the best quality axe/hatchet

comis · 38 · 4546

spam Offline comis

• Zombie Apprentice
Newbie choosing the best quality axe/hatchet
on: September 10, 2014, 11:03:14 AM
Hi, all.

I am a total newbie in axe department, and do have a few questions for those who had good experience or have used those tools in the past:

I am looking for a hatchet/small axe to use for camping/hiking/'bushcrafting', and the main task would be cutting and splinting small lot, light hammering tent picks, maybe falling small tree very occasionally.  I'd like to find the best tool for the job, ideally not too high maintenance or require high skill to use(since I have none).

My questions:

1) Since I am not going to use this hatchet often and not likely to purchase multiple of them to try out, will it be wise to just get the 'best' tool(possibly more expensive) to use?

2) Currently I am eyeing the Gransfor Bruks wildlife hatchet, anyone has experience with this or seen/heard anything bad about it?(just in case, shipping will be costly for me since I am in Asia)

http://www.gransforsbruk.com/en/products/forest-axes/gransfors-wildlife-hatchet/

http://www.gransforsbruk.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/415-Gr%C3%A4nsfors-Wildlife-Hatchet.pdf

3) While researching, I had seen a fair amount of good reviews about Wetterling Wildlife Hatchet(#106) and Fiskars X7.  I understand they are all in different price range, but will the difference be quite easily observed even as a newbie?

4) Any good international online seller you would recommend?  :D

us Offline ducttapetech

• Zombie Apprentice
  • Whiskey Tango Foxtrot, over.
Re: Newbie choosing the best quality axe/hatchet
Reply #1 on: September 10, 2014, 11:13:48 AM
Just my two cents, but tend to like tomahawks myself for camping and woodcrafting. But I am sure some of our Ax pros from across the pond will be able to help you right out.

Nate

Nate