Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

First Mod - School Friendly Gerber Octane

Offline Migripper

First Mod - School Friendly Gerber Octane
on: October 03, 2014, 03:55:57 AM
I am an elementary Physical Education teacher.  Working in the schools means no knife.  Working in an elementary school means nothing sharp either so I modded my Gerber Octane to be knifeless.  Heres what I did followed by some pictures.

Removed the knife along with the liner lock and blade cover.  Ground off a small piece of metal that was related to the knife.  Rounded the tip and dulled the package opener.  It is now a box opener.  Opens a box very eaisely but is safe to the touch.

So far I realy like it.  It has what I need at work and nothing I don't. I have no need for bottle openers, can openers, saws, awls, etc. Its also very thin and light with the knife removed. I mainly need a MT at work for fixing jewlery that kids have that broke, glasses, carts for my phys ed equipment and opening boxes.  It will also be nice that if I go somewhere straight from work I will always have a MT with me.

image.jpg
* image.jpg (Filesize: 225.97 KB)
image.jpg
* image.jpg (Filesize: 221.39 KB)

nz Offline babola

• No Life Club
  • The Tinkerer
Re: First Mod - School Friendly Gerber Octane
Reply #1 on: October 03, 2014, 04:45:26 AM
Very nice!  :multi:
EDC and OCD. A wicked mix.

us Offline Kampfer

• Absolutely No Life Club
  • Tactical Desk Jockey
Reply #2 on: October 03, 2014, 05:03:22 AM
 :tu:
EDC: Black Talon, Black Cat, Spirit, LD02

us Offline JBW1

• No Life Club
Reply #3 on: October 03, 2014, 06:09:47 AM
That's a no nonsense mt right there! It would have been hard to not have any tools on you all day. I Bet you had to get creative with office supplies before this huh.
I like that the drivers on this model are longer than most other  gerbers

00 Offline kirk13

• Admin Team
  • Zombie Apprentice
Reply #4 on: October 03, 2014, 08:28:08 AM