Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Boiled Linseed Oil for handle?

comis · 27 · 5524

spam Offline comis

• Zombie Apprentice
Boiled Linseed Oil for handle?
on: October 25, 2014, 06:56:00 AM
Hi, everyone.

I am new to this, and am just curious to see what everyone put on their wooden handle to keep it in good shape.  I have read from many sources that boiled linseed oil seems to be a popular method, but I have also read that some woodworkers don't think much of it.

Is there a particular kind of boiled linseed oil you'd prefer to use?  Will I be able find the common BLO (or your substitute) in popular chain in US?(Ace hardware, Home depot)

no Offline Grathr

• Absolutely No Life Club
Re: Boiled Linseed Oil for handle?
Reply #1 on: October 25, 2014, 08:28:54 AM
In my experience
pure Linseed oil takes a very long time to dry. Check the label fir drying times before you buy.
I prefer a oil made for oiling hardwoood kitchen table tops that has a 4 hour dry time, I found in a hardware store. It penetrates deep and does not smell much after a couple of days.
But my experince is limited in this area.

Sent from a device made from star dust using tapatalk
-Knívleysur maður er lívleysur maður.
 "A Knifeless man is a lifeless man" old Faroese proverb.

spam Offline comis

• Zombie Apprentice
Reply #2 on: October 25, 2014, 09:15:43 AM
In my experience
pure Linseed oil takes a very long time to dry. Check the label fir drying times before you buy.
I prefer a oil made for oiling hardwoood kitchen table tops that has a 4 hour dry time, I found in a hardware store. It penetrates deep and does not smell much after a couple of days.

Grathr, thanks for the reply.