Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Couldn't resist owning this vintage MTB

tosh · 54 · 2664

gb Offline tosh

• No Life Club
Couldn't resist owning this vintage MTB
on: January 31, 2015, 01:41:09 PM
As many know I've been commuting to and from work for the past 4 months by bike. The bike in question was/is my younger brothers. It remained unused in an outhouse for the past decade or more. I didn't want to use my own bike (GT Tequesta) purchased back in the mid 90's as I'd owned it from new and it's practically mint - stunning condition.

My brothers on the other hand was pretty rough, no seat, no chain, middle chain ring smashed, bent wheels etc etc
I did manage to get it up and running for £30?? Then added mudguards, saddle bag, lights. But the spokes are constantly coming loose the gearing is all but useless - only have a range of the middle 6 on the back and middle front!! And the pedal snapped off last week,,,
Also pretty certain the headset or forks are bent...,, just doesn't seem to ride true??

Anyway, toyed with the idea of buying a cyclocross,  then hardtail, then full suspension then fat bike.......!!

Couldn't make my mind up and was getting drawn closer and closer to buying something exorbitantly expensive on finance :ahhh

So I sat down and went through exactly what it was I wanted, there was only ever one that I really pined for.

When I bought the GT Tequesta I really wanted the Orange P7  :drool: but simply couldn't afford it. It was simply gorgeous!! Nickel plated steel frame! What a classy looker :o

Well now I have one, won it this morning on ebay. Owned from new, totally overhauled, now altered to 8spd, new brooks saddle and the guy I bought it off I know back from when we were kids. He's moved to Glasgow - small world init!!
image.jpg
* image.jpg (Filesize: 218.6 KB)
« Last Edit: January 31, 2015, 02:20:57 PM by tosh »
I don't claim to know it all, but what I do know is right.

00 Offline kirk13