Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Fenix LD01 Discontinued?

us Offline gustophersmob

• No Life Club
  • <><
Fenix LD01 Discontinued?
on: August 24, 2015, 05:23:15 PM
A friend of mine has recently expressed an interest in an EDC flashlight.  I have been carrying an HA LD01 R4 version for about 2 years now (see my quick review of the stainless R5 version), so I thought that would be a good light for him.  Unfortunately it looks like it is now discontinued.  Apparently (according to CPF) the LD02 is the new Fenix premium AAA, and the E05 with 3 modes fills in for the non-clicky people.

Unfortunately, neither of these lights do what the LD01 does.  Both revert to Fenix's penchant for medium-medium-high type modes, and neither use a reflector.  I get that a floody beam is good for most pocket light tasks, but for me the throw provided by the LD01 allows it to be my primary EDC unless I'm comping.*  Also, all the new Fenix's, as far as I can tell, do not put a glass lens in front of the optic.  This allows the plastic to scratch quite quickly in the pocket.  Given the floody beam, this really isn't a performance issue, but it certainly seems cheap.

The things I liked most about the LD01 were its: 1) slightly longer length (compared to the Maratac AAA and copycats) to make one-handed use easier, 2) reflector with glass lens, 3) mode levels and 4) the mode sequence (I really have come to like not having to cycle through low to get my most used medium mode.