Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Leatherman Signal - A Bittersweet Offering?

comis · 67 · 18884

spam Offline comis

• Zombie Apprentice
Leatherman Signal - A Bittersweet Offering?
on: October 30, 2015, 12:12:10 PM
Leatherman Signal – A bittersweet offering?

Introduction
For past couple of years, outdoor survival and bushcrafting have been gaining interest in both media and outdoor gear community.  As Leatherman announcing a new survivalist multi-tool in early 2015, it has spawned an enormous interest in our local MT.O community, and for months, multi-tool enthusiasts have discussed this tool to no end.  It was with this hype and high expectation, the new Leatherman Signal comes on sale summer 2015.

A quick background about myself--I am not an outdoor expert, but do hike on a very regular basis and camp once awhile.  My wife diagnosis me as a late-stage gear junkie beyond help.  All the ‘survival’ features on Signal, I have already owned and am satisfied with their performances.  So the decision of whether buying Signal is not question of needs, but a question of whether I want to.

It speaks to me as a multi-tool collector, but argues with me as a practical outdoor tool user. 

Just so I was visiting local Leatherman dealer, buying new MTs for my saw tests video, there I caught the first glimpse of Leatherman Signal.  The unusual color blend of silver, yellow and black does make Signal stand out, and it was calling me.  At the end, the ‘want’ won over the ‘need’ again, and I went home that night with a new Signal.  The MT.O forum members have taken rather polarized views on Signal, and I just had to see what were all the fuss about.

A Closer look at Leatherman Signal

Signal is a mix of successful tools with new innovative ideas.  Here are some of my thoughts, after fondling and using it for a short while:

The Blade

It is an one-hand-opening blade, with half serration towards the handle