Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Gerber MP600 Pro Scout saw blade ?

us Offline ksdog

Gerber MP600 Pro Scout saw blade ?
on: April 09, 2016, 02:27:57 AM
Just got my new Pro Scout in. I think the RemGrit saw blade has got to go in favor of something that will cut limbs off trees. What is a preferred replacement ?

us Offline super m

Re: Gerber MP600 Pro Scout saw blade ?
Reply #1 on: April 09, 2016, 03:23:11 AM
Any jigsaw blade that matches the holder will work. 

Don't be a tool ... Talk tools
Brothers helping Brothers

us Offline sLaughterMed

• No Life Club
  • Nothing's typical around here
Reply #2 on: April 09, 2016, 04:28:00 AM
ksdog PM'd me this same question, not really sure why. Anyhow, for future readers of the forum, here was my response:

I can try, but for full disclosure, I have little experience with blades that fit in the Gerber saw adapter, and none with the adapter itself.

For the Gerber adapter, it is important to remember that only U-Shank jigsaw blades with hole will work. Unfortunately, this method of retaining jigsaws is very obsolete, and you will be extremely hard pressed to find blades that work. Standard u-shank blades without the holes will not work with your Gerber. You might be able to find the U-shank with holes in mom and pop shops who never clear their shelves of old stock, but i doubt you will be able to find any in major hardware stores. If any major chain does still carry blades like that, it would be Harbor Freight, but that is pure speculation, and I wouldn't hold my breath on them carrying them either.

Based on some quick Googling, and past experiences, these should work: http://www.amazon.com/TEK...rds=u+shank+jigsaw+blades

I've had good experiences with Tekton tools, and these blades are fairly well rated. Keep in mind they are "cheap" tools, on the level of Harbor Freight in terms of price. But, they have the hole that you need, and should be decent quality.