Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

A customization SAK? New product idea

ca Offline xtool-edc

• New User
  • Born a maker, Lives as a creator
A customization SAK? New product idea
on: September 25, 2016, 05:05:28 AM
Hello! My name is Clayton and I am new to the multitool forum and the modding group. I am a 15 year old boy from Ontario looking to develop a product and possibly start a kickstarter and then start selling.
 I have a startup company called XTools. I have only designed one product so far and its almost ready for production. The thing that makes it special is that its modular, the user can pop off the plastic side, slide out a locking pin and remove the main hinge pin, the tools can then be removed and replaced with one more suited for the day or job ahead. I have different grouping of tools that are sold in packages and individually from hunting to fishing to wood work. Users simply take off the side, pull out the pin, remove the hinge. After that users can adjust the tools set with sizes like the regular (Large knife, saw, fish scaler with hook disgorger, measuring tool with square and MMGS and IPS rulers and a large metal file/metal saw.) The next category is the heavy duty section, with thicker steel and bigger tools I think it deserves a lot of attention, this includes (Pliers with wire cutters and a round grip, bit driver and hopefully an upcoming multi use wrench.) and the final section is the small section with 2 tools both folding in one slot, this includes (small knife with seatbelt and rope cutter built in, a fishing rig with a hook and spooling mechanism and can and bottle openers.) I believe that this would make a great product and allow people to focus on what they want, and not what's offered. Keep in mind this is the first design and I plan to change things in the future.