Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

SOG Powerplay and Powergrab+Help me pick a multitool

Offline Shai Kaminka

SOG Powerplay and Powergrab+Help me pick a multitool
on: January 21, 2017, 07:16:52 PM
Hi Guys, total newb here.
I've been wanting a multitool for some time, and I seem to continuously narrow it down to one, and then something changes my mind.

I'm in the scouts, and looking for a multitool that will last for some time, preferably a black oxide one (I'm a sucker for the looks. Sue me.). A swiss army knife is not an option, I want a tool with serious pliers and locking tools. My price range is about 80$.

Currently, I'm considering the new Powergrab - it looks like the best SOG has to offer (possibly out of my price range, but SOG's official price for the Powerlock is 114$ and it sells on amazon for 64$, so maybe it'll just fit). The blade steel is better (420) with a high quality finish BUT NO SAW, which renders it unusable for me. Thing is, It IS the same size as a Powerlock (at least closed), and the screws on the handles are (at least from the picture) either torex, safety torex or even allen screws, so why shouldn't it be possible to buy the Powerlock\assist saw on SOG's website and put it instead of, say, the scissors? I know it isn't officially compatible, but has anyone tried it with the Powerplay (which seems to be the exact same as the Powergrab, except for the tools and finish)?

I previously looked at the Super Tool 300 - Too pricey and the inside only tools kinda suck, the Rebar - Same with the inside only tools, and the Powerlock - The combo edge just feels like the worst of both worlds, and have now settled for the Powerplay. It is sort of a compromise, as I have yet to see someone say it really is a great tool, it looks just sort of okay, not sure how it'll hold up.

If anyone wants to suggest a multitool, here are the list of tools I absolutely need: