Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Cross-post of a little piece I wrote for Bladeforums.

us Offline Spoonrobot

• No Life Club
I wrote this for the guys over at bladeforums since most of them seem like drive-by hobbyists who don't look close enough. I'm curious what you guys think, I have never seen this mentioned anywhere so I'm wondering if I got the names right or if there is more to the system.

This post excludes the Juice and Squirt series, the Crunch, and the Micra. It includes every other Leatherman tool model.

Hello, I have been a multitool hobbyist for years and have noticed a particular behavior in regard to Leatherman tools. There seems to be some confusion about how exactly most full-size Leatherman tools operate in relation to the tension of the plier pivots and the handles.

This is an issue I had never really thought about until recently, having seen it dismissed numerous times as the mysterious "pivot tension." This phrase and explanation of how Leatherman tools works is incorrect, most recently rearing it's ill-informed head during a recent thread about the Leatherman Core. It is thought that the interplay between the tightness of the pivot pins and the plier pivot hole is the reason the pliers on Leatherman tools remain open and useable. It was suggested that due to plastic handle inserts on the Core the useable life of the tool was reduced because the plastic would wear much more quickly than steel due to friction/rubbing of the steel plier pivots against said inserts. Of course, this is not true, the Core will live a long and healthy life no matter how much plastic wears away from the liners.

It is my intent to explain exactly how they actually work.