Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Skeletool - help - integrate a folding saw mod?

Offline CoolHandRacing

• New User
Skeletool - help - integrate a folding saw mod?
on: January 23, 2011, 05:03:22 AM
Hi Fellas,

Im a newbie here from Western Australia.... I can't believe some of the amazing mods on this forum. Its a credit to you all.

I need a bit of help/guidance on this one simple problem. Is it possible to add a folding saw to a skeletool? I have seen the skelesurge/skurge idea but I like the idea of a folding saw. I am a third generation farmer and sometimes need to trim a small tree branch here and there.

Would it be possible to order a saw from another Leatherman model and integrate it in to the skeletool whilst retaining the other tools? Maybe we could get rid of the bit holder for room? I know I could purchase another LM model but I love the skeletool and modding is all part of the passion!

Thanks in advance. Luke

us Offline CENTURION

Re: Skeletool - help - integrate a folding saw mod?
Reply #1 on: January 23, 2011, 05:35:01 AM
Welcome to the forum!

Sadly, Leatherman doesn't sell their tool components individually  :(
You could ask around in the forums here and see if someone has an extra LM saw lying around, But I'd say your best bet is probably to buy a SOG saw (which have quite a bit of modding potential, and can be bought individually).

The big problem though is getting it on the tool, I suppose you could put it where some people put a scissors on the non-knife handle, but it won't have a locking mechanism. That is unless you also make and install a liner lock or something  ;)

I don't own a Skeletool though, so maybe someone more experienced with them could point out a better way to install it that I don't know about.

au Offline MultiMat

• Absolutely No Life Club
  • The MTO handshake.
Reply #2 on: January 23, 2011, 08:54:33 AM
G'day & welcome mate  :D :D.