Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

A Noobs Diary – A clueless muppet’s first steps into tool modding

gb Offline AimlessWanderer

• Zombie Apprentice
  • I'm not a pessimist, I'm an experienced optimist!
INTRO

I’m completely new to this modding game. I’d THOUGHT about several tweaks to tools, but until this stage the nearest I’ve got is reprofiling blade grinds and switching the scales on a Deluxe Tinker. I wanted to try – but of course was concerned with ruining whatever I touched. Plus I’d always got that many other distractions in the real world, the likelyhood of actually getting much done was pretty slim. Then THIS THREAD happened, and I ended up with a bunch of old SAK’s with MTO’s beady eyes peering in my direction – the pressure is on .....  :pok: :pok: :ahhh

I’ll blurt everything out in this thread – even the mundane stuff. For the experienced modders this’ll probably show what a noob I really am, but it might also be of interest/benefit to other less experienced types. Hope it doesn’t get too boring ...  :dwts:

The cantankerous but occasionally useful member, formally known as 50ft-trad

scotland Offline Gareth

• Admin Team
  • Point Of No Return
Best of luck mate, I look forward to seeing what you do.  BTW I'd recommend starting with the simplest of mods, a layer removal.  So something like a Spartan with the opener layer removed (to make it a 91mm Gourmet).  At only one layer it's comparatively easy and you don't need to have any new brass stock as you can re-used the pins from the original SAK.  If you need the parts later on you can always strip it down again.
Be excellent to each other and always know where your towel is.

• Zombie Apprentice
10th Feb 2011

I get home from work to find a package has arrived for me. I know what it is – but not what it contains. I removed the outer packaging to find a large bubblewrapped bundle.  :o :D :D