Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

What a tool!

us Offline theonew

• No Life Club
What a tool!
on: April 24, 2011, 12:33:27 AM
As a Leatherman newb I gotta say it just keeps getting better. My first one, a PS4, has proven to be extremely useful over the nearly a year I've carried it on my keys. Then a KF4 impressed me with its tool power and pocketable size. But I got this baby in the beginning of last week and frankly it impresses the hell out of me.

While I hate the term steel snob I must admit to being pretty conscious of the steel used in my knives. Since I spent the time it takes to become a very effective and efficient free hand sharpener I can live with SAK steel or Leatherman 420HC just fine but if given a choice I will always choose a harder and more wear resistant steel. The blade on the Charge came extremely sharp but a little toothier than I prefer so I refined it a bit with a DMT extra extra fine pocket hone.  I then proceeded to cut up about 12 feet of dirty cardboard and the blade was still hair popping sharp. Nice! Later I refined the edge even more, to the point that it would split a free hanging hair lengthwise and did some more cutting on plastic and cardboard with excellent results. The steel reminds me a bit of D2 but doesn't seem to get as toothy an edge with wear. All around I'm very happy with it.

The knife itself was a surprise as well. A nice, thin, functional design with a point that pierces thick material with ease. The one hand opening is very easy and smooth and while not as simple for a lefty is still reasonably easy. 

While I can't recall ever using a cutting hook, I've played around with the one on the back of the serrated blade and found that it offers some very unique and useful cutting options. I'm diggin' it  :tu: