Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Making A Pocket Pry Bar

us Offline MeadMaker

Making A Pocket Pry Bar
on: September 22, 2011, 01:07:10 AM
I've been wanting a pocket pry bar for my tool ring and have looked at so many models that I think I know them all on sight now.  The problem is that I don't want to spend any cash on one until I am certain that it will be as handy as I envision it being. 

There are some pictures out on the net of people making their own.  It all looks pretty simple.  I am not a metal worker, but I am an avid woodworking hobbyist and have some of the necessary tools, bench grinder, belt sanders, bench stones and files.   I have some 3/16"x3/4" bar stock left over from another project.   Shaping the tool doesn't look like much of a challenge, but it seems like the steel will be to soft to hold up to any prying or scraping.   Am I wrong?  The steel came from the local big box home center, so it's nothing special.
Tick Magnet

us Offline tattoosteve99

• Absolutely No Life Club
Making A Pocket Pry Bar
Reply #1 on: September 22, 2011, 01:12:04 AM
I just bought a small one, like 4 inches long, from home depot. Cut off the really bent part, drill a hole in it, attach key ring and done.
If I remember correctly, wait, what was I saying?

us Offline hig789

Making A Pocket Pry Bar
Reply #2 on: September 22, 2011, 01:27:00 AM
The one I have on my keychain is a micro pry bar, 5" I think, that came from my local hard wear store. I cut it to the length I wanted then sharpened the end opposite the pry bar into a flat head screw driver. I don't think plain mild steel will hold up very good, especially the scraper/pry bar.
Here's mine.

us Offline Mercury

• Admin Team
  • Wearer of the Cloak of Band-aye-eed.
Re: Making A Pocket Pry Bar
Reply #3 on: September 25, 2011, 10:45:35 PM