Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Navy 2001 Tool

ca Offline Grant Lamontagne

• Head Turd Polisher
  • Administrator
  • Just Bananas
  • Optimum instrumentum est inter aures
Navy 2001 Tool
on: October 21, 2011, 09:53:22 PM
Well it's here- I'd like to point out first that it does indeed seem like an Atwood copy.  I can't dance around that- the pictures Nate posted show a lot more of a similarity than could be coincidence.

That having been said, and since I have no experience with any Atwoods, I am looking at this with a slightly different slant than Nate did, and I'm going to assess it simply as a tool, not as a pale shadow of what it is pretending to be.  After all, our philosophy at Multitool.org is that names mean little and a tool should work, regardless of what's stamped on it.

I have yet to really use this for anything, but I did want to document my initial thoughts.  First off, it's about the size I was expecting.  Nate had commented that it's smaller than the Atwood, but it's very similarly sized to the other one pieces I have in my collection, like the Raker Ring Tools, Gerber Shard and Superior Titanium Shark.

Here's a direct comparison with the Shard:

One of the neat things about this tool is the texturing along all the outer edges to increase grip.  I've always appreciated the jimping on the Shard edges to increase grip during use, making it somewhat more effective by allowing you a better hold on it, and the Navy 2001 has the same thing, only different!  :D 

Instead of exaggerated jimping like the Shard, the Navy 2001 has an evenly spaced number of small slots that increase grip significantly.

I'll update this as this thing sees some more use.

BTW, in case anyone is still not clear, this is a blatant rip off of an Atwood design, and no one should consider supporting this level of evil.

Def
Leave the dents as they are- let your belongings show their scars as proudly as you do yours.