Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Survival Knives

us Offline Lynn LeFey

• Absolutely No Life Club
  • Any tool is better than nothing. Some not by much
Re: Survival Knives
Reply #150 on: April 14, 2012, 12:05:25 AM
It was brought home by my grandfather, who was a Marine.

A bit of a sobering thought.

Sparky, I hope you understand, I do indeed know what a K-Bar is, and what it looks like. My brother was a Marine, and LOVED the K-Bar. I was a programmer in the Air Force and LOVE my keychain MTs. I think that sums up the difference in our philosophies pretty well. He needs to be able to be lethal and survive in the wilds. I needed to be able to swap a failed hard drive. :D

gb Offline AimlessWanderer

• Zombie Apprentice
  • I'm not a pessimist, I'm an experienced optimist!
Reply #151 on: April 14, 2012, 12:36:00 AM
I really like the Kabar too, though I must confess I do not own one.

The Kabar as I understand it is predominantly a fighting knife, much like our Fairburn Sykes knives. I think our MOD knife is more of a "tool" and more versatile (please correct me if I'm wrong), and that's the kind of knives I go for. Obviously ANY knife is useful in a survival situation, but I hope you see what I mean.

The Muela Jabali of mine is also bowie style, but the stag handle and brass bolsters make it feel more of a general knife than a fighting instrument to me

The cantankerous but occasionally useful member, formally known as 50ft-trad

no Offline Steinar

• No Life Club
Reply #152 on: April 14, 2012, 12:39:19 AM
If you want a US equivalent to Fairbairn-Sykes, you would look at the Applegate-Fairbairn (yes, it was the same Fairbairn in the two knives). The ka-bar was a hunting knife chosen for military use after evaluating a number of civilian knives, since no military design existed. The ka-bar has to do everything from fighting to digging to, well, stabbing, where the FS and AF are only weapons.

us Offline BIG-TARGET