Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Anyone edc a 108mm?

nl Offline Waterlander

• Don't follow me, I'm lost too..
Re: Anyone edc a 108mm?
Reply #60 on: August 28, 2012, 06:13:53 PM
Oh nice another Saw test.  What/Whom comprised the Dutch Jury?  Is it time for you to give us your official verdict?

Was there really any difference between the lumberjacks?

Yes major difference! Please hold on a little longer. Just got home from work
and I need a beer first!  :cheers:

nl Offline Waterlander

Reply #61 on: August 30, 2012, 10:57:01 AM
Here are some of my thoughts.
First of all let me say that I'm a cabinet maker by profession, so I know how to handle a woodsaw. Twenty years of woodworking and doing rockclimbing as a hobby, has given me strong hands. So it's fair to say I don't get fatigue quickly. This is importent, because it effects the test results. Ofcourse the saw blade itself also plays a major role how it performs. But the handle is just as important. In general I found that a boxier shape works best. It lets you grip the knife secure with thumb on top. This will help greatly keeping the saw blade straight all the way through the cut, effortless. It is far less effective, far harder to control and far more fatigue holding the handle in a pinch grip between thumb and indexfinger. When doing cross cutting, you get the straightest cut without binding if the blade is rigid. If it's too flexible for sure you have to watch this. On the other hand you want a nice thin blade, so this is a trade of. A dedicate hand saw for precise cross cutting solves this by putting a rigid piece on the spine of a thin saw blade (hand saw in the picture with orange handle). Let's just forget the shape of the teeth for a moment (all Vics are the same except for the 108 and Elinox). I like to mention that SAK's need relative large teeth to be effective because only short strokes can be made.

Now, for the test... (back after the coffee)