Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Beautiful!!!!

us Offline Heinz Doofenshmirtz

• No Life Club
Re: Beautiful!!!!
Reply #30 on: September 06, 2012, 02:52:58 AM
Hey I have been a A's fan since birth so DH is not going to change that.   :) Don't get me wrong I hope the Giants do good, but you won't catch me wearing any Giants gear.  ;)
I first started getting into baseball back in my early 20's, when I was a bike mechanic in San Rafael.  I always just gravitated toward the Giants for some reason; when I was about 12, I had an uncle who would take me to A's games at the Coliseum, but I never really got into it for some reason. 

In hindsight, I think it was Hank Greenwald... I liked listening to him and Lon Simmons a lot more than the guys who did play-by-play and color for the A's games.  Most of what I know about the game, I learned from Hank and his broadcasts.  It was a sad day when he retired.

Wow, just a bit off topic, eh?  ;)  My stepfather's father is a big Giants fan, always has been.  Of course, when he started following them they played JUST a bit closer to New Jersey...   :P  He continued to follow them after they moved to San Francisco, and still goes to see them play at least once a season when they're in NY.  This is in direct contrast to my grandmother, who grew up in Brooklyn following the team she STILL calls "Those smurfs."  :o  She didn't follow baseball at all until the NL returned to New York in 1962, which is why everyone in my family follows the Mets.
Well, that's why they call me "threadkiller" from time to time!   :rofl: