Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Opinion on "Ti EDC Pry Tool"

Boyen · 16 · 11259

00 Offline Boyen

on: September 02, 2012, 01:16:52 PM
Hello everyone, first post

I'm relatively new to the whole "EDC" scene. I've been practicing it all my life not realizing there was an entire scene behind it with lots of wonderful treasures of multitools to explore. So I'm working on my keychain and I'm looking at a pry tool. At first I was thinking of buying an Atwood, but since I'm from the Netherlands it will take months before I receive it (customs) and then I need to pay an extra fee making it a tad too expensive. So basically I was looking for something that can be obtained closer to home.

So I looked at PocketToolX but didn't like the ergonomics, I also saw TTPocketTools but they have the problem of being US based again. I already have a Gerber Shard but I don't like its prying capabilities, additionally I already have more than enough screwdriver capabilities on the rest of my EDC. What I do miss is some wrenches (metric ones). If anyone has suggestions, more than welcome!

I came across a "Titanium EDC Pry Tool" it seems like it doesn't have a brand, I don't really mind that as what I need is functionality and not a brand... it looks like this:

With the following specs:
-Overall Size: 85mm × 26mm
-Thickness 5.6mm
-Weight: 26g
-Material: 6AL-4V Titanium
-Costs: ~$45

Does anyone have experience with the above tool or can, based on the picture/materials give any rough estimate if it will perform? It seems like the tip is thin and I really like that it is curved for more prying power.

Thanks in advance!

ca Offline Grant Lamontagne

• Head Turd Polisher
  • Administrator
  • Just Bananas
  • Optimum instrumentum est inter aures
Re: Opinion on "Ti EDC Pry Tool"
Reply #1 on: September 02, 2012, 03:56:37 PM
It looks similar to the Atwood Prybaby and Navy 2001 tool, as seen here: