Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Sharpener advice

Rs217 · 23 · 2974

us Offline Rs217

• Please send coffee
Sharpener advice
on: September 11, 2013, 09:10:23 PM
Hi all. I'm needing a sharpener for my tools and need advice on what to get. I have no experience using hand-held sharpeners except for this:

I don't like using the above sharpener because it nicks up the blade edge.

Does anyone have advice on a good blade sharpener that is 1) not too expensive  :dwts: 2) a novice can use  :mn: 3) will last a long time?  :wait: I'd like to use it on something like the Wave, with both straight and serrated blades.

Thanks!  :hatsoff:

cy Offline dks

• Absolute Zombie Club
  • Bored
Re: Sharpener advice
Reply #1 on: September 11, 2013, 09:18:57 PM
Lansky, smiths which are cheaper, exduct sharpener, crocksticks, stones with some practice (diamond ones from falkniven, the new version)
Kelly: "Daddy, what makes men cheat on women?
Al : "Women!"

[ Knife threads ]  [ Country shopping guides ]  [ Battery-Charger-Light threads ]  [ Picture threads ]

cy Offline dks

• Absolute Zombie Club
  • Bored
Reply #2 on: September 11, 2013, 09:20:38 PM
Just saw the serrated bit. Lansky has special stones; I jut use a round diamond file

[ Knife threads ]  [ Country shopping guides ]  [ Battery-Charger-Light threads ]  [ Picture threads ]

us Offline sir_mike

• No Life Club
  • It is what it isn't.
Reply #3 on: September 11, 2013, 10:06:34 PM
For around $55 a Sharpmaker would work good! :D

hr Offline styx

• Absolutely No Life Club
Reply #4 on: September 11, 2013, 10:24:33 PM
Depending on your budget the Sharpmaker might be a really good option although later on you might find yourself searching for a coarser stone. I think Lansky has a very similar easy to use system that is less expensive although has more limitations in it's use.