Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

New surge not sharp

nl Offline Dion0543

New surge not sharp
on: February 08, 2024, 09:07:17 AM
Heya all

It’s my first time here and I recently bought my first Leatherman surge. The first Multitool I own.

After unboxing it (it was sealed) the blade is not sharp also the serated blade is not sharp and the awl is not sharp either.

What do I mean by not sharp? It doesn’t cut paper.
I bought it new here in the Netherlands

{edit} it also has micro scratches all over it and I have not yet used the tool
I am not really good at sharpening stuff so I don’t know what to do really..

Anyone knows why it is t sharp? From what I have seen it should be razor sharp out of the box

Greetings from the Netherlands

« Last Edit: February 08, 2024, 09:26:38 AM by Dion0543 »

us Offline SteveC

• Global Moderator
  • Just Bananas
Re: New surge not sharp
Reply #1 on: February 08, 2024, 01:49:35 PM
Hello and welcome  :cheers:

Get yourself a Lansky Turnbox ceramic Rod Sharpener. They should have come sharp but they will dull with use anyway so might as well be prepared.

Really easy to use, reasonable price and does a great job.

https://www.amazon.com/4-Rod-Turn-Box-Sharpener-Sharpening/dp/B0BN4Y6ZS3/ref=sr_1_3?hvadid=410084358191&hvdev=c&hvlocphy=9019690&hvnetw=g&hvqmt=e&hvrand=9135202489709198075&hvtargid=kwd-275151021005&hydadcr=3405_11374422&keywords=lansky+turn+box+knife+sharpener&qid=1707396439&sr=8-3

nl Offline Dion0543

Reply #2 on: February 08, 2024, 02:47:54 PM
Hello and welcome  :cheers:

Get yourself a Lansky Turnbox ceramic Rod Sharpener. They should have come sharp but they will dull with use anyway so might as well be prepared.

Really easy to use, reasonable price and does a great job.