Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Homemade combo tools

Offline deebz

Homemade combo tools
on: January 29, 2024, 08:46:57 AM
Hello to the Sak pack (why does that sound rude)
Im new to the multitool world. Lost my job and have gone from being  in a van full of tools to filling the gaps waiting for my new job to start, doing bits and pieces, private jobs etc.
As a result have found myself shopping for multitools
And have ended up here.

As well as the Gerber and leatherman styles, I have opted for a mini champ or a 91mm
BUT like I’m sure many of you have experienced, your dream set up is not quite fulfilled.

Has anyone turnt a file/nail file into a blade (now a combo)
Or  cut a bottle opener out of the rear of a blade  (now a combo)
Can’t the scissors also be an awl/reamer (now a combo)

What have you guys done, or what are your ideas on what can be done.

Or

fi Online Antti Lammi

• No Life Club
  • Only Tools Matters
Re: Homemade combo tools
Reply #1 on: January 29, 2024, 09:29:39 AM

Has anyone turnt a file/nail file into a blade (now a combo)
Or  cut a bottle opener out of the rear of a blade  (now a combo)
Can’t the scissors also be an awl/reamer (now a combo)

idea of bottle opener on blade waould maybe require thickblade and i dunno is it good idea, i've had cheapos with this combo and idea allread was awful since other was near tip and other near pivot. Near tip breaked quite fast (material wasnt best) and near pivot made somehow akward to use blade.

Turning file into blade is somehow questionable on this tool since usually those have enough good blade.

Really depends on Scissors that awl, if it is enough strong it can be used as awl. i have used SAK and LM scissors as awl on soft wood and plastic tubes.

I have myself turned LM can opener to chisel/awl/can opener/wirestripper also modded Wave serrated blade to Chisel/Serrated Blade

Offline deebz

Reply #2 on: January 29, 2024, 10:25:26 AM