Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Rookie attempt at a custom SAK (hopefully this will contain "Lessons Learned")

detron · 103 · 8607

us Offline Aloha

• Global Moderator
  • Point Of No Return
 :woohoo: DETRON.  That looks awesome buddy congrats on your first ( of many ) mods.  Hmm  :think: maybe I should commision you to do my first mod  :tu:.
Esse Quam Videri

us Offline detron

• Absolutely No Life Club
  • Tool Carrying Linux User
OK,  thanks to all the beautiful Custom SAKs I have seen here, and thanks to buying a Custom SAK from GigaHz,  I have taken the plunge and hope to teach others not to make the same mistakes I do, as well as maybe build some confidence to those who are considering it.

I am just getting started, and it will most likely go slowly.

Knowledge Nugget #1

I wish I had a drill press

I have a mod in mind that will be a larger (# of layers) and since I wanted to not ruin a high dollar SAK right off of the bat, I chose to take apart my Serrated Spartan first (better a $15 SAK get ruined than a $50 SAK)

I am fairly sure I managed to save all six of the collars (5 for sure, gotta check the last one a little closer)  :tu:

Knowledge Nugget #2

next SAK I take apart, start with the middle pins first.
     I took apart a Spartan, and had pieces falling out (offset piece for small blade) and I was trying to be super careful so I know what goes where and in which    orientation.

So, I have gained a little more confidence and hope to continue on soon.

:woohoo: DETRON.  That looks awesome buddy congrats on your first ( of many ) mods.  Hmm  :think: maybe I should commision you to do my first mod  :tu:.

There in less the problem, I. Do not have Amy more 2.2 mm brass for the inner pins.   Also,  I recommend hiring up one of the pros, one mod does not equal best choice

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk

If I can help, let me know 

us Offline n4vgm