Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

First Attempt at CAD tool design

ca Offline Grant Lamontagne

• Head Turd Polisher
  • Administrator
  • Just Bananas
  • Optimum instrumentum est inter aures
First Attempt at CAD tool design
on: April 26, 2014, 02:49:57 AM
Please be gentle- I am not much of an artist, nor am I terribly skilled with any kind of design software.  I decided that I needed to take a stab at this kind of stuff sooner or later, and this is my first attempt. 

It's a pretty simple tool, made with simple shapes, but so far this is the full extent of my abilities.  The wrenches are 6mm, 8mm, 10mm and 12mm (I figured out how to measure!) and the bottle opener doubles as a can opener since it comes to a point, but chances are it won't be a good one as it's a bit stubby.

I'm using Google Sketchup because it seems quite capable and the price was right- it's free.  :P

It's a work in progress- any help is appreciated although probably won't be understood... :P

Def

Leave the dents as they are- let your belongings show their scars as proudly as you do yours.

us Offline ducttapetech

• Zombie Apprentice
  • Whiskey Tango Foxtrot, over.
Re: First Attempt at CAD tool design
Reply #1 on: April 26, 2014, 12:17:11 PM
Looks neat. Are you gonna have MTO or DEF cut into it?
Also wondering if your gonna put a bit driver on it?
live from Nate's mobile
« Last Edit: April 26, 2014, 12:19:07 PM by ducttapetech »
Nate

SEND IT!

• Head Turd Polisher
  • Administrator
  • Just Bananas
Reply #2 on: April 26, 2014, 12:31:10 PM
I did originally have a bit driver, but the software measures from the points, not the flats so I had trouble getting the size right.  The 6mm wrench slot should work- 6mm is 1/4" so another slot seems a bit pointless.