Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Okay, why cellidor???

cbl51 · 24 · 12048

us Offline cbl51

• No Life Club
Okay, why cellidor???
on: July 01, 2014, 11:01:14 PM
I love my SAK's, don't get me wrong. Lord knows I've been carrying one since 1968, so I've been through some. Gave away a lot to spread the works. But I wonder why, in this day and age of polymers, why Victorinox has stuck with a compound that is sort of obsolete? No, it is obsolete.

Eventhough the nylon scales are used on the economy SAK's and the 111mm SAK's, and the I think the real modern German army issue, why not just go with something more durable and modern?

I have this family member. He's not a knife guy, nor is he a SAK guy, but he knows he needs a pocket knife. So many years ago, he bought a Gerbeer LST at a sporting goods store. Now, I like Tom, but he's an idiot when it comes to knives. He abuses them, bests on them, uses them for things the designer never imagined in his wildest late at night pepperoni pizza induced nightmare. But that little Gerber LST has stood up for whatever Tom has dished out. I have to admit I'm impressed as hell. The zytel handle has nt cracked, chipped, shrunk, or done anything. With zytel being able to be injection molded in huge production numbers, I wonder if Victorinox wouldn't be better off using it instead of cellidor?

Over the course of using SAK's for as long as I have, I've had to replace a few scales. Once, I had some army issue bug repellent on my hands, and it dissolved a scale on my SAK. Yeah, dissolved! As I sit here drooling, I can only wonder if the bug repellent they gave us in those little OD green bottles was as bad as the agent orange?

But to the core of the matter: is it time for Victorinox to use a more modern and durable scale material?
Don't get too serious, just enough will do.

us Offline sawman

• Absolutely No Life Club
  • You're amongst friends.
Re: Okay, why cellidor???