Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

A nice outdoor pair of binoculars.

gr Offline kkokkolis

• Absolutely No Life Club
  • Τετραφάρμακος
A nice outdoor pair of binoculars.
on: July 19, 2014, 11:53:23 AM
I am an amateur astronomer and I have a good set of optical organs. But I feel the need for a nice portable rugged set of binoculars around 250-450€.
Since I got rid of my heavy Celestron 15x70 my binoculars are:
1. Canon 18x50 IS AW.  A real diamond with image stabilisation. Portable but not for hiking/tourism/bicycling.
2. Bresser and Rocktrail 10x50. Budget Chinese binoculars for quick views. One in the car permanently.
3. Asahi Pentax 8x30. This is vintage. Lightweight and small but since it ia a porro, not that small. Coatings today are better. I keep it in Canon's case for wider fields.
4. A Soviet 8x30 monocular. Same period (late 70's - early 80's) and quality with the Pentax. It is my tourist/hiking/bicycling nature optic. I use it for astronomy also (looked the partial moon eclipse from Geneva for example as well as Paris from Eiffel tower).
I want something lightweight, binicular, modern, with better coatings and Adler index than the 8x30 (either magnification or aperture or both) that would be waterproof and strong.
Options are a roof phase coated 8x42 or Canon 10x30 IS. I'd like a >2000€ Leica, Swarovski or Zeiss but it is out of the question. What I found as reasonable choices are Nicon Monarch 5 or 7, Pentax DCF, some Vixens and Zeiss Terra ED (assembled in China but still a Zeiss).
What's your opinion? As I said think that it should fit in my overloaded EDC for tourism/birding and occasionally astronomy.

gb Offline Mike, Lord of the Spammers!

• Chief of the Absolutely No Life Club!
  • Abandon All Hope Ye Who Enter Here...
  • Why haven't you got a Farmer yet!
Re: A nice outdoor pair of binoculars.
Reply #1 on: July 19, 2014, 12:00:32 PM