Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Swisstool Scissor Spring Size

ca Offline angusW

Swisstool Scissor Spring Size
on: October 13, 2014, 04:55:57 AM
I finally got my hands on a Swisstool and really love the quality of it. I'll be using it for work but I have to mod my work Skinth a bit to use it.

The one problem, and it is minor, but the spring on the scissors needs to be replaced. The tool is used and in very good shape but it bothers me a bit that the scissors don't open fully unless I push them open wider with my thumb. I don't feel any burs on the edge of them and I've lubed them up. I was wondering what size is the spring? I'm assuming it's the large spring but not 100% positive.

On a side note, I've been sporting a couple of Spirits for a few years and was wondering if anyone knows the post to whoever did the mod to make the scissors open wider. I found one post but the pics are gone. I have an idea on what area to grind off but I want to see what others have done just to make sure I'm hitting the right area.

spam Offline J Mackrel Jones

Re: Swisstool Scissor Spring Size
Reply #1 on: October 14, 2014, 06:12:39 PM
The SwissTool X (mine is labeled just SwissTool) has the same scissors spring as the 91 mm Officers. That is, Large.
But if the spring is not broken that is probably not the reason for the scissors' stiffness against opening all the way.  There may be some grit inside the joint that could be removed with very hot water or dental floss.
The SwissTool Spirit uses a completely different spring, sort of a side-bar.
I wouldn't do any grinding on the scissor edges.
The work takes on a life unplanned
and the painter finds the painting directs the hand

fi Offline Crow

• No Life Club
  • Look at all those shiny sharp things.
Reply #2 on: October 14, 2014, 08:39:27 PM