Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Heavy Metal Club

magentus · 595 · 25520

wales Offline magentus

• Admin Team
  • Absolute Zombie Club
  • mmmmm SAKrelicious
Heavy Metal Club
on: April 23, 2015, 10:41:36 AM
Heavy Metal Club

There seem to be quite a few members here that like Heavy Metal so I wondered about starting up a thread devoted to my favourite music.

Apart from MT’s my biggest and longest running passion is music and HM in particular.

I’ve been listening to HM for about 40 years now – I was working my way through my parents singles collection (Elvis, Beatles, Rolling Stones) when I came across ‘All Day and All of the Night’ by the Kinks. It was such an exciting riff – I was hooked immediately. Luckily there was also a copy of ‘You Really Got Me’ too. That was the extent of my parents hard rock collection.

Next was the Top of the Pops version of ‘Whole Lotta Love’ by Led Zep, and ‘Black Betty’ by Ram Jam, ‘The Boys are Back in Town’ by Thin Lizzy, ‘Ace of Spades’ by Motorhead and ‘Blockbuster’ by Sweet. As soon as I got a tape recorder I would put it as close to the radio as I could and tape my favourite songs in complete silence.

What really opened my eyes was my school exchange trip to France where I was introduced to AC/DC, Deep Purple, Jimi Hendrix and Iron Maiden.

That was it! Between the ages of 13 and 29 (when my daughter was born) I spent all my spare cash on music and gigs.

What I love about Metal is that it is constantly evolving, challenging and progressing. My favourite bands today are different from when I was 13 but I still love to listen to the bands I first heard.

I could list a couple of hundred bands that I regularly listen to and feel excited by but for the moment my favourite bands are:

Tool
Opeth
Black Sabbath
Mastodon
A Perfect Circle