Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

safety

Offline jake8218

safety
on: June 26, 2015, 07:12:23 AM
What tool would u recommend to Cary in ur bunker gear :climber:

us Offline Mercury

• Admin Team
  • Absolutely No Life Club
  • Wearer of the Cloak of Band-aye-eed.
Re: safety
Reply #1 on: June 27, 2015, 12:26:23 AM
Not being a firefighter myself I can't say for sure but there are quite a few folks on here that do fight fires or that are paramedics, I'm sure someone with experience will be along shortly to help!

au Offline TheDude

• "What is the riddle of steel?"
Reply #2 on: July 28, 2015, 12:38:14 PM
Victorinox Rescue tool and a Leatherman OHT together. Excellent one-handed capability and using with gloves.
An alternative might be a LM Raptor and Surge as a combo. But forget using it single handed or with big heavy gloves.
If you are on a budget the LM Wave is a great one handed tool but same rules apply.

Im not a firefighter but I find in order of importance for me as Paramedic the most useful individual tools in order of importance are a :-   Safety blade of some sort for seat belts and helmet staps; Large Flat head screwdriver for prying and scissors for cutting clothing. Lastly a glass breaker is a bonus which you are more likely to use for getting yourself or one of your buddies out through a window if you crash your vehicle.

Let me know if you want me to be more specific.
Eventually even McGyver got himself a Leatherman

ca Offline Chako

• Absolute Zombie Club
  • Armed with camera and not afraid to use it.
Reply #3 on: July 28, 2015, 02:03:05 PM
How about a pair of FirePliers?

http://forum.multitool.org/index.php/topic,15964.msg308619.html#msg308619

Looks like the web site is no longer in use however...even though you may still be able to s core a pair off of eBay.
A little Leatherman information.

Leatherman series articles

ch Offline Etherealicer

• Admin Team
  • Zombie Apprentice