Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Dumping the dinosaur??

tosh · 11 · 1285

gb Offline tosh

• No Life Club
Dumping the dinosaur??
on: August 05, 2015, 09:32:18 AM
I'm again in a quandary with this photography lark.

Last Christmas I went digital by adding a dslr to my kit.
8 months on and it's been used just 3 times  :facepalm:

I never use it for days out, never use it for simple home snaps, never use when watching my son play sports.

The only time it gets used is when I dabble with URBEXing......and even then it gets in the way of the fun.
I think it's the whole caboodle not just one item. Having to lug everything around just on the off chance takes serious dedication - which I thought I had......obviously not. I really hate the notion of being seen as a photographer, I much prefer to be seen as a snapper!! ( strange mindset I know - but that's how I feel)

So, I'm again looking for alternatives.

I'm tempted to sell the lot and buy the Sony RX10, because of the much larger sensor. But will 200mm reach be enough?? Apart from that it sounds fantastic.

The macro down to 3cm is great for me. The 24mm wide end should be sufficient. The movie mode will definately be used more than the taking stills. Wifi to iPad/iphone sounds fantastic.

Any comments would be very welcome, particularly from those who've already taken the plunge.
I don't claim to know it all, but what I do know is right.

wales Offline hiraethus

• Admin Team
  • Absolutely No Life Club
  • I brake for cake
Re: Dumping the dinosaur??
Reply #1 on: August 05, 2015, 09:46:54 AM
Why do you feel you have to carry ALL the kit?  Just because you've got it?  Pick one lens (e.g. a short zoom or slightly wide prime) and just use that, see how you get on.

us Offline TRUE LIBERTY

Reply #2 on: August 05, 2015, 10:30:15 AM