Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Skeletool RX?

us Offline Aloha

• Global Moderator
  • Point Of No Return
Re: Skeletool RX?
Reply #120 on: September 05, 2018, 03:04:38 PM
Kinda surprised no one has made a glass breaker bit yet  :dunno:
Esse Quam Videri

ch Offline Etherealicer

• Admin Team
  • Zombie Apprentice
Reply #121 on: September 05, 2018, 03:28:08 PM
I guess its because many/most/all have a dedicated tool like the RESQME in their car, so people don't feel the need to have a glass breaker.

EDIT: Also, too high a chance of loosing the bit when trying to put it in your tool.
« Last Edit: September 05, 2018, 04:01:24 PM by Etherealicer »
It wouldn't be the internet without people complaining.

dk Offline MMR

• No Life Club
Reply #122 on: September 05, 2018, 03:38:27 PM

I am no expert or anything on rescue tools or breaking glass, so feel free to correct me.

But I can imagine, the "time consuming" process of swapping bits in an emergency situation would render a glass breaker kind of redundant, and I can also imagine that the bit driver wouldn't be designed to be used as a hammer tool, so it would prematurely wear the bit driver out, if not destroy it completely.

Just my 2 cents....
Kind regards,

MMR

-------------------------------------------------
"We all make choices, but in the end our choices make us."
- Andrew Ryan
-------------------------------------------------

us Offline Aloha

• Global Moderator
  • Point Of No Return
Reply #123 on: September 05, 2018, 03:45:43 PM
I guess its because many/most/all have a dedicated tool like the RESQME in their car, so people don't feel the need to have a glass breaker.

I keep a automatic center punch in my vehicle.  Just figured someone who really wanted one would have attempted to make one.   :salute:
Esse Quam Videri

us Offline NutSAK

• Admin Team
  • Absolutely No Life Club
Reply #124 on: September 05, 2018, 03:46:28 PM