Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Time for a new laptop. Maybe...

us Offline sLaughterMed

• No Life Club
  • Nothing's typical around here
Re: Time for a new laptop. Maybe...
Reply #30 on: December 06, 2015, 04:13:25 AM
Don't need more than 4gb of RAM?  Apparently you have never tried to edit video coming from a Gopro. ...

Def
Hey, I thought I was the expert! :pok:

Just kidding. I'm a layman at best. But dmac is right, a lot has to do with read and write speeds. You really will see greater improvement across the board with a SSD in your old computer than an new computer with a normal HDD. Consider it an investment.

If you are worried about space (SSD's are more expensive per GB), its possible to have both a SSD and HDD in a laptop in the same time (SSD for OS, programs, and current work, HDD for archiving). This allows you to get a cheaper, smaller SSD (around 128GB or 256GB would be great for this setup, depending on the size of your actively editied GoPro Vids), and still have plenty of storage. Your current laptop may even have room for it stock if its a 17" monster laptop, or you may be able to replace your CD reader with a HDD cradle (my 14" Lenovo has this feature, as do many other laptops this size and higher).

<----  Informatics village idiot here.

Would a SSD work on a Netbook with a Intel Atom processor?

Thanks in advance :)
Does it have a standard 2.5" hard drive?
If yes, I don't see why not. Although in a situation like that, the lack of RAM and processing speed may be a problem, unlike in Def's case. You may not see the same improvements as someone who has enough of both
Laughter is the best Medicine
Slaughter is just Laughter with an "S"

We are looking for Multitool Encyclopedia Editors! If you are interested, please give me a PM!

The Multitool Encyclopedia Editing for Dummies Page: http://forum.multitool.org/index.php/topic,65751.0.html