Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Yet Another GoPro Wrench

ca Offline Grant Lamontagne

• Head Turd Polisher
  • Administrator
  • Just Bananas
  • Optimum instrumentum est inter aures
Yet Another GoPro Wrench
on: April 13, 2016, 03:18:05 PM
As some of you may remember from previous threads (GoPro Tool and Fishbone Tool) I seem to have a weakness for GoPro related tools.  Since I have two GoPro cameras, I can only guess that it the reasoning.

Here is the collection so far:

The new one is the dog bone shaped one, which is kind of interesting.

The first thing you notice is that it has the typical 4 splined wrench that most GoPro screws use, but on the other end is a three splined wrench that is used for another brand of HD action camera, the offerings by AEE, which are very similar to GoPro in many ways.

AEE on the right, GoPro on the left:

I've never used an AEE camera before so I can't comment on the unit itself or how well the three splined screw works over the four splined screw, but I do feel better knowing that when and if the day should come that I get one, I already have a wrench to tighten it up with.  :D

Additionally in the middle of this unit is a 1/4" hexagonal slot, which makes sense as the other side of the GoPro mount is a 1/4 inch nut that is usually, but not always recessed into a slot to keep it from turning.

I have at least a couple of aftermarket mounts that don't envelop the nut, and so I can see a time when a 1/4" slot could be handy.  Of course, that would mean that you require multiple wrenches as well, one for each end, but I have that covered pretty well as you can see.... :P