Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Knife sharpening

00 Offline RaptorMan

• No Life Club
Knife sharpening
on: September 06, 2008, 09:50:29 PM
Can anyone recommend a good knife sharpener? I am not very good with stones and am really looking for something dummy proof.

Thanks

england Offline Benner

• Global Tuffy
  • Absolute Zombie Club
  • Just Awesome! And a Slayer of Polar Bear!
Re: Knife sharpening
Reply #1 on: September 06, 2008, 09:59:37 PM
I don't own one (yet) but the Spyderco Sharpmaker is meant to be the best out there.
I'm back!!

ca Offline jzmtl

• Absolutely No Life Club
Reply #2 on: September 06, 2008, 10:03:14 PM
Truely dummy proof you should get edge pro, but it's expensive as hell. Lansky sharpener use similar principal but much cheaper, even less than spyderco sharpmaker. That said I use sharpmaker and it works well.

00 Offline RaptorMan

• No Life Club
Reply #3 on: September 06, 2008, 10:25:23 PM
Thanks I will check it out

Roefisher

Reply #4 on: September 06, 2008, 10:34:44 PM
The Spyderco Sharpmaker is a very good method. The angles are preset for you and all that is required is that you keep the knife straight - and don’t run the tip along the stone which can round it very quickly. The only shortfall with the Sharpmaker is that you aren’t sharpening the entire depth of the edge grind. What you’re doing is creating a secondary or micro bevel. Where this is not that great is that it your new edge wears away very quickly in use and you need to repeat the exercise regularly.