Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Keychain / EDC micro thermal scanner

us Offline carinson43

Keychain / EDC micro thermal scanner
on: September 29, 2016, 06:27:24 PM
As an electronics engineer I needed a tool to quickly scan circuit boards for thermal variations, which usually indicate bad parts or some other kind of useful information. Until the last few years, thermal cameras were very expensive and not something you could just toss in the toolbox. Nowadays I think you can get one that works with your phone for maybe $170. Still an expensive and fragile combination.

The tool I developed was a pen-sized thermal scanner.  Like a point-and-shoot IR thermometer, it reads temperature non contact. But thats where the similarities end.

Instead of displaying the absolute temperature of the surface, this device emits a continuous tone whose pitch changes with temperature, and its relative to the starting point.

So for an extreme example, if you started scanning on an ice cube, and then move the scanner over to your hand, the pitch would go very high to indicate the change in temperature.

The scanner has a few sensitivity ranges, the highest is just a couple degrees F, and can easily detect the residual temperature change left on a wood table by a finger.

Basically it acts as a linear thermal scanner, with an audio output. It can be used in place of a thermal camera in many instances.

Troubleshooting electronics, machinery, etc.. anywhere where temperature variations tell you something. Flow in a pipe being blocked, friction causing heat, etc..

I'm thinking of converting this pen-sized device to something much smaller, that would fit on a keychain, and therefore be an EDC tool.

I already did a kickstarter campaign for it in its pen-sized form, but I had a very high goal, and the pictures and video were something only true electronics nerds might like.