Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Customized Squirt

00 Offline SwansonNation

• New User
Customized Squirt
on: December 06, 2016, 10:04:49 AM
Ok fellas,

I'm new to the forums but I wanted to show you guys what I've been working on. For about 10 years my EDC multitool has either been an old Leatherman Squirt P4 or a Swiss Army Knife Midnite Minichamp (https://www.amazon.com/Vi...fRID=F7WMEP84X66ZE7S55N18).

I love both of these tools, but neither is really ideal for my everyday uses. I started thinking about modding my LM Squirt somehow to create my ultimate EDC multitool, and ran across Metropolicity's LM Splash forum posting (highly recommend!) https://www.edcforums.com...herman-squirt-mod.103948/ Basically I'm building off of Metropolicity's ideas and adding my own twist to the design

So my goal is to combine the best features of my current EDC tools. I have some CAD experience using Solidworks so I'll be using that to model a few parts for 3D printing.

The functions I use most often when carrying the leatherman are: pliers, knife, various screw drivers, bottle opener. I never really use the file.
The functions I use most often when carrying the swiss army knife are: scissors, knife, pen, bottle opener, screw drivers. The rest not so much.

So my ideal tool will include:
Pliers
Knife
scissors
various screw drivers
bottle opener
pen
Extras: Serrated knife, maybe a house key?

So to do this, my base design is going to be a Leatherman Squirt PS4 with the pliers core. I'll be adding on an extra layer like Metropolicity did with his splash. (Not sure what to call my version yet!)

Layer 1, Side A: Knife
Layer 1, Side B: Scissors
Layer 2.1, Side A: Serrated knife
Layer 2.1, Side B: House key(?)
Layer 2.2, Side A: Mini flathead + awl
Layer 2.2, Side B: 2d Phillips + Bottle Opener

Up to this point I'm still on familiar territory if you read through Metro's thread, but I need to figure out how to stick my pen in there!