Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Dullish blade. How to sharpen it and not ruin the edge?

br Offline BleaKrytE

• Hello world. I'm Vinícius!
on: December 31, 2016, 03:21:59 AM
So... My knife's blade is kinda dull. It won't slice paper anymore, it's more if ripping the paper. Now, let me be clear and say that I have zero experience with sharpening. The most I've done is using a mug to resharpen my lil' Classic with mediocre results.
I know that a pull through sharpener will probably ruin the blade, and I probably will do the same with a whetstone so... Tips? I might try to do it and if I can't maybe I'll get it to a locksmith. Anyway if any of you guys have any tips on how to sharpen it, I am all ears!
Thanks
Uni student, environmental activist (yes, I'm that annoying guy that mentions climate change every third minute), motorcyclist.

us Offline clown

• No Life Club
  • Learn to swim...
Re: Dullish blade. How to sharpen it and not ruin the edge?
Reply #1 on: December 31, 2016, 03:39:05 AM
If you don't feel confident freehand sharpening there are several guided sharpening options.  I currently use a Spyderco Sharpmaker and am happy with it.  Lansky also makes a good sharpening set.  Either of these two would be more than adequate for a SAK. 

br Offline BleaKrytE

Reply #2 on: December 31, 2016, 03:41:44 AM
That would indeed be perfect but the thing is: I got no money, plus parents don't like my SAK (yeah I'm a teenager) so buying a sharpener is a no go.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Uni student, environmental activist (yes, I'm that annoying guy that mentions climate change every third minute), motorcyclist.

us Offline clown

• No Life Club
  • Learn to swim...
Reply #3 on: December 31, 2016, 03:49:17 AM