Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

What I do for a living. (Pic Heavy)

ch Offline Etherealicer

• Admin Team
  • Zombie Apprentice
Re: What I do for a living. (Pic Heavy)
Reply #30 on: December 31, 2016, 05:34:08 PM
Are those arches self supporting?

Yes, we built forms laid the brick then removed the forms before pointing them up :tu:

I have only used the flexible lintels a time or so and curved steel lintels usually only on stone arches (I have built self supporting arches with stone as well though :cheers:

If you are referring to the bridge then no they aren't self supporting and it had a welded lintel to a concrete structured bridge ;) Looking back all the arches up til now in the brick are self supporting though :cheers: The ones that are roughly 2 ft wide were built up so high and then poured with concrete inside :tu:
No, about the arches... there are tons of designs in classical architecture.
It wouldn't be the internet without people complaining.

fr Offline Whoey

• Administrator
  • Zombie Apprentice
  • I am geek, hear me code
Reply #31 on: December 31, 2016, 05:35:19 PM
this is about 10 minutes from my house, roman aquaduct (sorry for the quality, was my old phone from a moving car on the highway):

2011-04-06_13-30-54_310.jpg
* 2011-04-06_13-30-54_310.jpg (Filesize: 134.63 KB)
The difficult we do immediately, the impossible takes a little longer.

ch Offline Etherealicer

• Admin Team
  • Zombie Apprentice
Reply #32 on: December 31, 2016, 05:38:25 PM
this is about 10 minutes from my house, roman aquaduct (sorry for the quality, was my old phone from a moving car on the highway):
Yep, held up by its own weight :salute:
It wouldn't be the internet without people complaining.

us Offline Poncho65

• Global Moderator
  • Just Bananas
Reply #33 on: December 31, 2016, 06:03:23 PM