Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Sharpening for SAK beginner?

wales Offline caninesapien

Sharpening for SAK beginner?
on: January 12, 2017, 10:51:43 AM
Hi all

I am very new to the world of SAK and wanted to ask for opinions on sharpeners for the beginner. Do you think the Vic dual sharpener would be ok to start with, or is it worth spending a little more to get something more substantial? I like the look of the Vic sharpener but do you think a beginner could get to grips with it?

Thanks!

wales Offline magentus

• Admin Team
  • Absolute Zombie Club
  • mmmmm SAKrelicious
Re: Sharpening for SAK beginner?
Reply #1 on: January 12, 2017, 11:13:57 AM
Hi all

I am very new to the world of SAK and wanted to ask for opinions on sharpeners for the beginner. Do you think the Vic dual sharpener would be ok to start with, or is it worth spending a little more to get something more substantial? I like the look of the Vic sharpener but do you think a beginner could get to grips with it?

Thanks!
If you mean the pen type Vic sharpener, I have heard good things about it. It is reasonably priced and best of all, designed specifically for sharpening SAK's!  SAK steel is soft enough to aid easier sharpening, so I'd recommend practising on the dual sharpener first and going from there.

:salute:
'Use the force Harry' - Gandalf

se Offline Fortytwo

• No Life Club
Reply #2 on: January 12, 2017, 11:18:42 AM
Hi all

Thanks!

Rod style sharpeners require a bit of skill (something I feel I'm losing, I believe I was better at it at age 8 than now...) and will require very much work if there are any deeper marks on the edge. Nothing that difficult and a good skill to possess since they are so slim and easy to bring with you. For a reasonably cheap solution that is more or less idiotproof I use the 4 rod version Lansky Turnbox.

pt Offline MacGyver

• No Life Club
Reply #3 on: January 12, 2017, 11:35:10 AM
Hi all

Thanks!