Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

I've been carrying a multitool for a few months, my thoughs...

gb Offline Damsel

• Damsel in this dress
Back when i joined in November, I had my multitool for about a week. It's nothing special, just a cheapy from China which cost less than £10, including postage. I wanted to get a cheap one to start with because I'd hate to spend £70+ on a tool and either hate it, or not use it. I knew the one I bought wasn't that great, and it had it's limits, so I made sure not to have a huge expectation.

Safe to say, i am hooked and wish I had started carrying one sooner! This thing has been living in my pocket every day since I got it, and I've used it so much. I never realised how useful it would be until I started carrying it. One of the very first tasks was nearly a little too much for it, I used it to take apart a bed with screws that hadn't moved in probably 20 years, and they were pretty tight but they managed. I then used it to wire a new plug on a vacuum cleaner, and the different screwdrivers and blade were very useful. Since then I've used it for a lot of things from opening boxes to wiring household sockets and plenty in between. I even took apart a sofa with it! It has never let me down and I feel naked without it.  Sure I don't use it every day, but it gets used a handful of times a week and I'd rather have it and not need it, than need it and not have it.

Things I like
The price - I've spent more money on snacks than I have on this tool. If it fell apart in the first week i wouldn't be upset. It's really cheap
The tools - The multitool has plenty of tools I use, and only a couple I don't but might eventually need. I think the only thing I haven't a use for is the fish scaler. The file on the other side is nice though!