Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Walther MultiTac–an Impotent Macho?

Offline Keyboardinator

Walther MultiTac–an Impotent Macho?
on: June 15, 2017, 08:13:47 PM
Sorry, I'm a new one here, and I can only hoe the pics were downloaded where I wanted them :)
I’ve been carrying a PST daily since 2001, and it turned out that the pliers and the can opener were the most used tools. I preferred utility knives for cutting, and I always had a screwdriver in my bag. Some day I decided that something with pliers, a 1/4” socket, a knife, and a can opener was an ideal MT for me. Moreover, I wanted to try something tactical. So I bought a Walther MultiTac.
I purchased it in Russia, where retail prices have little in common with reality, but I’ve read that it is about $30–not really a cheapy, as far as I am concerned.
Compared to PST, it is really big, and it looks much more serious. As for the tools...

It is a knife-based tool, and the blade is much bigger than that of my PST. It was my first locking blade, mu first OHO, and my first semi-serrator. I found out that I like the first two (by the way, no problems with opening it with my left hand) and hate the third one. For all my purposes, this big fat blade has less cutting edge than the PST’s, or even than the small cheap knife I keep in the kitchen for small cutting tasks. The handle is comfortably large and convenient. The blade was notepaper-cutting out of the box, and few minutes made it newspaper-cuttng, which is where I usually stop. It is marked “440SS”–decent, but nothing to write home about. The lock is secure, no play. Well, a usable, acceptable knife, but nothing special.