Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Antivirus?

ca Offline Grant Lamontagne

• Head Turd Polisher
  • Administrator
  • Just Bananas
  • Optimum instrumentum est inter aures
Re: Antivirus?
Reply #30 on: July 04, 2017, 01:39:01 PM
I did it.

My paranoia won out and I bought a year subscription to McAfee.  I decided that in the end, the peace of mind was worth the $30 or so it cost.

Def
Leave the dents as they are- let your belongings show their scars as proudly as you do yours.

be Offline Top-Gear-24

• Absolutely No Life Club
Reply #31 on: July 04, 2017, 10:14:40 PM
I've been using Avast (the free version) for the last ten years and I think it does the job a lot better than the Norton (that I bought ...) which I used before.

I don't like McAfee very much because it has installed (or tried to install) on my laptop on numerous occasions while installing/updating something else (at least I think it was McAfee ... old people and modern technology ::)).

• Head Turd Polisher
  • Administrator
  • Just Bananas
Reply #32 on: July 06, 2017, 02:37:39 AM
McAfee likes to try and install itself with browsers and I think Adobe products.

Def
Leave the dents as they are- let your belongings show their scars as proudly as you do yours.

england Offline Kev D

Reply #33 on: July 06, 2017, 08:56:37 AM
McAfee likes to try and install itself with browsers and I think Adobe products.

Def

Yep it likes to add it's pishing filter stuff and safe site scanner, etc if you let it.

fi Offline AlephZero

• Smurf smash!
Reply #34 on: July 06, 2017, 09:24:55 AM
I've been using Avast (paid version, but nothing wrong with the free version) for years with absolutely no issues. :tu:

I'd stay away from McAfee, they used to be good in early 2000's, but now... I mean, good software doesn't  need to
try to sneak in onto your computer without permission, right?
"Hoarder of weirdness,
Always posting random things,
I'm AlephZero" :ninja: